Posted by: Briar Rose | October 2, 2007

A Thousand Splendid Suns

A Thousand Splendid Suns

I read many books in a year. Some I read for entertainment and others to increase my knowledge. Then there is the rare book that does both of those things, plus touches your heart as well. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini does just that.

The novel focuses on mothers and daughters, friendships between women, and an intimate look at Afghanistan and the difficulties of life there. The heavy-handed opening of the novel quickly gives way to even more soap-opera-ish events.

I like books that teach me something, and there is a lot to learn in Splendid Suns. Previously, I didn’t know much about the political turmoil in Afghanistan and the various factions vying for power. I knew women had an appalling time living under the Taliban regime, but I didn’t realize how horrible conditions really were. The childbirth section will fill you with horror. I also learned of the natural beauty of Afghanistan and her fascinating history.

Leave a Reply

Categories

